Just another WordPress.com site

My childhood crush.. Tony Dorsett#33 Runningback Dallas Cowboys..What was yours?

There is a day in a girls life when she can honestly say that her biggest childhood crush was…. blah blah blah.  My biggest childhood crush was and still is Tony Dorsett #33 for the Dallas Cowboys.  Oh how I loved Dorsett.  I remember I went to 3 of his games and still have his #33 Jersey and I would sleep with it everynight.  As a matter of fact I have 2 jerseys ….. One on my wall and another one I would wash and wear everynight to bed.  Oh my God! He was my total fantasy and I swore one day I would have to be his wife.  lol 🙂

This man is about 56 or 57 years old and he still looks delicious…. are you kidding me!  I remember Dorsett when he was the rookie in 1977 ( I WAS 7 YEARS OLD) when Dorsett ran 1,007 yards and 12 touchdowns.  Then in 1981,  when he rushed  1,646 yards and added 325 yards on 32 receptions. I thought and still do that he is the most beautiful black man I have ever seen.  I love his style the way he cared about his charities and they way he kept on winning.  he kept winning my heart! 

Legacy

Dorsett recorded 12,733 yards and 77 touchdowns in his 12-year career. Dorsett also had 13 receiving scores and even a fumble recovery for a touchdown. On January 3, 1983, Dorsett broke a 99-yard touchdown run against the Minnesota Vikings, which is the longest run from scrimmage in NFL history. Another notable fact about his record breaking run was that the Cowboys only had 10 men on the field, as the fullback was unaware of the play being called. [1]

Dorsett made the Pro Bowl 4 times during his career (1978, 1981-1983) and rushed for over 1,000 yards in 8 of his first 9 seasons. The only season that he didn’t reach the 1,000 rushing yards milestone was the strike-shortened, 9-game season of 1982 which he led the NFC in rushing with 745 yards. He was a First-team All-Pro in 1981 and a Second-team All-Pro in 1982 and 1983.

Dorsett was elected to both the Pro Football Hall of Fame and the College Football Hall of Fame in 1994 and was enshrined in the Texas Stadium Ring of Honor the same year. In 1999, he was ranked number 53 on The Sporting News’ list of the 100 Greatest Football Players. He is the only player in history who has won the Heisman Trophy; won the Super Bowl; won the College National Championship; been enshrined in the College Hall of Fame, and been enshrined in the Pro Football Hall Of Fame.

The football stadium at Hopewell High School in Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, is named after Dorsett.

 

Leave a Reply

